top of page

Venom: Let There Be Carnage (2021) Film Review

As a review topic I chose a movie I saw a few weeks ago, Venom: Let There Be Carnage (2021). Before giving my personal opinion, I would like to introduce you a little to the plot, which revolves around the protagonist, San Francisco-based journalist Eddie Brock, whose life is not so stable after bonding with an alien parasite three years earlier, as seen in the prequel Venom (2018). This parasite lives inside his body and the two are experiencing various problems with this “cohabitation”, which will result in a literal falling-out. Things go even worse when Eddie decides to reinterview notorious serial killer Cletus Kasady, who had appeared in the prequelʼs post-credit scene, with whom both he and Venom will have an epic showdown.

I have to admit, I hoped it would last longer than one and a half hours. It was too bad for such an amazing new antagonist not to have a much bigger story or character development and, honestly, the “epic showdown” I mentioned previously, happened only in the end of the movie, even though it was still a good one. In the beginning it was fun and then, even though it brought me to tears, it got way too emotional and dramatic, but the post-credit scene showed that something way more exciting is going to happen in the future, maybe something Spider Man-related, so I hope the next one is going get more of an action-themed adventure.


F. Garioni

12 views0 comments
bottom of page